Cat Haven of Greater Baton Rouge

Help Cat Haven to help more of us cats!

Donate Today!

About Us

As a local nonprofit organization, Cat Haven relies on local veterinarians to provide quality health care at reduced rates so our cats and kittens have healthy starts before being placed in your home. We also depend on volunteers and donors to continue our work.Cat Haven began in 1999 as Baton Rouge’s first cat-only rescue organization that spay/neuters every pet before adoption. Today, Cat Haven boasts a cat and kitten haven - an adoption center professionally designed with all the amenities our feline friends need to flourish! We work to foster an understanding of responsible cat and kitten care as we lead Baton Rouge into becoming a "no-kill" community. Cat Haven’s Adoption Program has rescued and found loving homes for over 12,000 cats and kittens since 2000. Because population control is an important part of responsible  pet care, Cat Haven has also helped to spay or neuter over 12,000 more through Trap-Neuter-Release and low-income assistance programs.

Cat Haven Management

Executive Director
Wendy Decker
Cat Haven’s Executive Director is responsible for overseeing the success of current operations and for expanding opportunities through development and increased public awareness. 

Development Director
Angela Schifani
Cat Haven’s Development Director is responsible for overseeing the development and execution of Cat Haven's fundraising plans, as well as maintaining relationships with donors and volunteers.

Operations Director
Abby Santini
Cat Haven’s Operations Director is responsible for all aspects of the Adoption Program, including intake of cats and kittens, their daily care either at the Cat Haven Adoption Center or in foster homes, coordination of medical care, pursuit of all adoption opportunities and management of volunteers.  She has the help of Adoption Manager, Sherri Hedges and Shelter Manager, Samantha Hanks.

Board of Directors



Meredith Hathorn

Cathy Turner

Vice President

Glenda Foster

Megan Courtney

Jennifer Anderson
Immediate Past President


Kathy Baker

Tom Boggs 

Ann Guercio

Laura Lapeze

Rawley Penick    

Peggy Polk

Jeff Stafford

Nancy Trahan

Cathy Turner

Jim Wade